USA Diaries – Day 29– Approaching the End!


This diary post is a part of a 30 day trip that I am taking this month which it also happens to be my first ever International trip. So for the next 30 days I will be posting here all my weird thoughts and commentary.

PS: I haven’t kept my promise.. I didn’t post each and every day and now I am trying my best to update all the remaining days from the sanctuary of my Home Sweet Home. 

Nothing could have symbolized the end of the tour more than Day 29… it just felt like things were coming to an end, and the first hint was the lack of activities planned for that day.. we finally get a break.

We had an early morning session with my new friend Katie Lindstrom, who talked about this software that she has developed for keeping a database for her research and the archaeological objects, but since it was not my field, therefore I hope people would forgive me for the lack of interest that I took in it!

Later on, we made a stop in the Experimental Lab of the Department and we had a chance to take a look at the pots that we had made the previous day. The pots were still not baked but were dry enough for us to put weird paint and art work on it, much to the embarrassment of any soul of Harappa that may have survived or was looking down upon us. But hey, this is how you learn right?

 

Dr Kenoyer then took us to show his outdoor experimental lab, which I have to say was one hell of a cool thing. They had made on that site the same sort of material that was being used at that time by the Harappans, for example, you have a kiln that is made in the same way and used the same technology. And all over the site, you can find material that has been made by the students – from seals to pottery and all of it is lying around the site. I mean for a person coming from Pakistan, this was truly an amazing thing to see. I mean I would love to be taught like this and be in that sort of classroom.

 

We got an early off so that we can prepare our presentations for the next day – our last day that is – and write the paper that we were suppose to regarding what we have learnt and how we plan to apply this back when we get home. So on the walk back, I see a CUPCAKE SHOP! I love cupcakes, I don’t think I can emphasize that enough! And OMG ! Were those things amazingly delicious or what! I mean, they were AMAZING!

The rest of the day was limited to being stuck in the room and working on our presentations. I don’t think we could have been more laid back than that!

DISCLAIMER: We really didn’t do anything that day! The lack of activities doesn’t mean that I am forgetting details, which will be proven by my last post regarding this trip!

 

Leave a Reply

